Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Looks like Spyware Stormer is owned by Casale Media

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
webhelper
SWW Expert


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:43 am    Post subject: Looks like Spyware Stormer is owned by Casale Media Reply with quote

Looks like Spyware Stormer is owned by Casale Media

Not only does the whois for sites with the same IP as Spywarestormer.com show their registered to Casale Media but the Online popup ad foisting company even run semi scare ads that open to Spyware Stormer so users can make sure their not infected.

Screen Shots and write up here:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/scams/spywarestromer.html
_________________
Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 4049
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very Happy thx webhelper!!
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2010
Posts: 10722
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Tue Jul 27, 2004 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you see the links on the rogues page for Spyware Stormer?

Here's one on the casalemedia.com site.

http://isg02.casalemedia.com/V2/38712/39440/index.html?s=51119&c=38712

and the link on that page goes here:

http://www.spywarestormer.com/
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
webhelper
SWW Expert


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Last Visit: 20 Jan 2010
Posts: 1128

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's because they advertise about scanning the computer on all sites they own.
_________________
Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Blue
Newbie


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 09 Oct 2004
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know Casalemedia loves to leave tracking cookies... Mad So I guess I wouldn't trust them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
partytildawn
Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 20 Sep 2004
Posts: 1
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 3:00 pm    Post subject: Casale not only leaves cookies but performs IP abuse Reply with quote

Blue wrote:
I know Casalemedia loves to leave tracking cookies... Mad So I guess I wouldn't trust them.


Oh they do a lot more than just leave cookies. I've been filing regular IP abuse complaints with Casale's network for the last 10 days. Examining my firewall log, I saw that my IP address is being enundated with hundreds of packet attacks to my IP address from Casale all on different originating and destination ports. I only visit one site that they openly advertise on (www.hsx.com) , and I have contacted them. Casale has yet to reply. Their network says that they passed my complaint on to Casale. Today, I sent a letter to the Canadian embassy asking the Canadian Cyber Crimes division to investigate. Maybe something will get Casale's attention.
_________________
The more you fear death, the faster you die.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2010
Posts: 10722
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

partytildawn - keep us posted if you get any reply or not. I'm intersted in this.
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
joseph58
Newbie


Joined: 24 Sep 2004
Last Visit: 25 Sep 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:35 pm    Post subject: So, what can u do if you have this program? Reply with quote

I have it installed, paid like $29.95, now I find out its suspect...what should I do from here? Is there any danger to my system from this thing? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 01 Sep 2010
Posts: 10722
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

joseph58 - you might want to look at the notes about Spyware Stormer on the rogue/suspect anti-spyware programs page:

http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm

The notes say:
Quote:
aggressive advertising (1, 2, 3, 4); variant of NoSpyX & SpyVest (1); Ad-aware knockoff [A: 6-26-04 / U: 7-20-04]

The numerals there are links to references. The two that are very similar, NoSpyX and SpyVest say
Quote:
false positives work as goad to purchase.
The problem is when it flags things that are false positives and you subsequently remove those items, there could be damage to your computer if you are removing legitimate files.

Whether or not you keep it is up to you, but I personally would not recommend it, especially when there are two reliable, proven free spyware removers, Ad-aware and Spybot Search & Destroy.

See here for more info about trustworthy spyware removers:

http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm#trustworthy
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Spyware/Adware in the News All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group