| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
anartist Junior Member

Joined: 25 Aug 2008 Last Visit: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 41 Location: DC area
|
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 3:02 pm Post subject: anybody know keyonlinecup.com? |
|
|
Private registration. In the Bahamas.
Snagged me off a Google image search and popped up offer of Windows Secure Kit 2012 which had 'found' "critical process activity" and declared it would scan system files, ok"
I grabbed screen and left. Lot of giberrish after keyonlinecup.com in header.
Anybody want the screenshot? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 25 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I googled Windows Secure Kit 2012 and this seems to be a well known rogue program. This links says it was being spread by Yahoo's ad network. There are screenshots and other info.
http://stopmalvertising.com/malvertisements/windows-secure-kit-2012-delivered-via-yahoos-advertising-network.html
If you think your computer got infected, follow the instruction in the spyware removal help section and post your logs. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
anartist Junior Member

Joined: 25 Aug 2008 Last Visit: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 41 Location: DC area
|
Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2012 11:49 am Post subject: Windows secure kit 2012 |
|
|
Thanks, suzy, but I think I am alright.
I didn't let it do anything.
This is the second time though that I have been grabbed off a google image search by something like this. Different website. Different name for the phoney windows software.
Also 3rd time grabbed off a google search of any kind for something like this.
I just make screenshots and look them up on netsol's whois. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|