Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Problem with HP Officejet 4315 All in One

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:48 am    Post subject: Problem with HP Officejet 4315 All in One Reply with quote

I own an HP Office Jet 4315 and for some reason it just stopped printing. Shocked It started a few days ago and I tried to unplug the usb cord (so that the drivers would reload. Darn not having a regular printer port that requires a cd to run. I don't even know where to access the drivers for my printer on this sucky Vista system. I'm a novice so forgive my lack of knowledge. Embarassed ) unplugging the power cable, doing a system restore (which didn't work. I rarely encountered this on Xp.) and finally doing reformat and reinstall. NO success. Shame on you Speak to the hand Brick wall d'oh! The printer will copy, but when I push the print button it prompts me to save a doc for the Microsoft XPS writer. I click cancel (twice) and it pops up this message. Rolling Eyes




I need my printer to print very important documents and am fed up Rolling Eyes and completely unsure as to what to do. Dunno The printer isn't registering in the printers folder despite the drivers (supposedly) being loaded. This has never happened before and I need a solution. What do I do? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can download the latest driversand software for your printer here: ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib/software10/COL18486/mp-47767-2/AIO_CDB_Full_Non-Network_enu_NB.exe

Download and run the file and see if that helps.

Let me know how it goes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that tip roger_m, but my printer still isn't printing or showing up on the computer. In fact when I try to open the HP solution center for the printer this message pops up. Shocked




This is very frustrating! Mad I've racked my brain for days trying to come up with solution and still nothing. Can you help me figure out why the printer won't show up on the computer even though the usb cable and power cord are plugged in?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 22 Aug 2014
Posts: 10323
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried a using a different USB port and a different cable? Are you connecting through a USB hub? A hub might not work as well as plugging directly into a fully powered USB port.

Also check this HP support documentation for your printer. Maybe there will be something helpful.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/documentIndex?lc=en&cc=us&product=1138342&dlc=en

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01704931&tmp_track_link=ot_faqs/top_issues/en_us/c01704931/loc:13&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=1138342#
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Suzi. Smile

Yes I have tried to put the printer in a different USB port and unfortunately got the same result. I never plugged the printer into a USB hub. I don't have a different USB cable and don't even know how to get one. How would I go about getting a different USB cable?

Thanks for the heads up on the documentation. I intend to check it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can get a usb cable at an electronics or computer store such as Radio Shack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news! I was able to get another cable and the printer started working. Very Happy At least for now. Wink Thanks for your help guys. Applause Thumb Up Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad you can print now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group