 |
Spyware Warrior Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
|
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
luther Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 Last Visit: 11 Feb 2010 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:08 pm Post subject: Trojan Exploit.HTML.Mht from Spyware Warrior link? |
|
|
Hello Suzie & co, I have been visiting this forum for ages but thought I would report a strange occurence. I was on the Tutorial part of the forum and looked at the Malware Hunting Guide v1.0. There is a collection of links and I clicked on the Kephyr.com malware research page and received this warning from Kaspersky Internet Security: 26/03/2009 21:55:19 Denied: Exploit.HTML.Mht Internet Explorer http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/pus-practices/index.phtml//index.
It could be a false positive but thought I would let you know.
Thanks. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mikey Malware Expert

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 03 Sep 2012 Posts: 1061 Location: CenTex
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hey luther,
Thx for the heads up.
I really wouldn't call it a F/P. However, after looking at the source of that page, I believe I know what is happening.
On that page, malware definitions are displayed in HJT logs. I believe your AV is simply picking up on the name recognition from those logs.
I found nothing else in the source other than the definitions that would trigger your AV.
So in essence, it's not really false but the pages are safe to view.
Thx again for bringing a potential exploit to attention. _________________ -
W2K/2K3/XP/2K8/Vista/W7/RHE/DEBIAN/SUSE
Spyware/Adware is NOT freeware, it costs all of us dearly.
Mikey's Stuff
Fiddler and friends...essential web diagnostic, forensic, & development tools.
- |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
luther Newbie
Joined: 12 Jul 2006 Last Visit: 11 Feb 2010 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 2:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No problem Mikey. I thought it would be safe as this is a reputable site that certainly wouldn't mislead people into malware exploits.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 18 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 5:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I went to the page and got the same warning from my Kaspersky AV. I also looked at the source code of the page and I believe Mikey is right. We've had people report similar issues on some of out HijackThis log threads a very few times. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|