Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

About External drive

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Talk About It
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
trace
Warrior


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 149
Location: from the uk

PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 10:35 pm    Post subject: About External drive Reply with quote

Hi i was wondering if some could help me i have just got a new external drive for my laptop and when ever i connect it or disconnect it i get this message

A USB device has malfunctioned .and exceeded the power limits of its hub port you should disconnect the drive .To enable the port disconnect the hard ware and click reset if you click close the port will no longer function.

I clicked reset and then i get this


The USB mass storage device is a hight speed usb device and will function at reduced speed when plugged into a non hight speed port
Disconnect the usb mass storage device from the currant port and then connect it to one of the ports on a hub shown in bold type .


Im not sure what to click on can someone tell me
thank you
Tracey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Feb 2004
Last Visit: 15 Jul 2014
Posts: 3913
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It means the USB port you are connecting to isn't a high power USB 2 port and the device needs that. Try all of the USB ports to see if you get the same error. If they do, then you need a hardware upgrade to add USB 2 ports. For a laptop, you don't really have a cheap way to do this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trace
Warrior


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 149
Location: from the uk

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much for explaining this as i wasn't too sure what to do .
Tracey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trace
Warrior


Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Last Visit: 08 Nov 2009
Posts: 149
Location: from the uk

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 7:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi just wanted to say i have tried another port at the back of my laptop and it was ok so i guess its ok .Thank you again
don't know why i didn't think of doing that my self i thought the ports were all the same .
Tracey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> Talk About It All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group