| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
webhelper SWW Expert

Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Last Visit: 20 Jan 2010 Posts: 1128
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 8:31 am Post subject: Webhelper Alert: Messenger Plus is Lop.com |
|
|
Webhelper Alert: Messenger Plus is Lop.com
As I was going thru listings to generate a new file list, I found an enteresting thing about the messenger plus:
On the outside and the standard whois shows really nothing but it is the IP that gives them away. msgplus.net:66.220.17.175, This is one of the NetRanges for C2Media aka lop.com.
MsgPlus lop com
Quebec
Quebec, Quebec H0H0H0
Canada
Registered through: GoDaddy.com
Domain Name: MSGPLUS.NET
Created on: 14-Dec-02
Expires on: 14-Dec-05
Last Updated on: 15-May-03
Administrative Contact:
P., Cyril cyrilpaciullo@hotmail.com
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.RACKSHACK.NET
NS2.RACKSHACK.NET
IP:
msgplus.net:66.220.17.175
CustName: C2 Media Ltd
Address: P.O. Box 1113
City: Shalimar
StateProv: FL
C2Media NetRange: 66.220.17.0 - 66.220.17.255
Also installs Ad Intelligence
http://www.msgpluszone.com/forums/misc.php...ion=help&hid=10
| Quote: |
Messenger Plus! comes with an optional sponsor program. Installing it will help keep your favorite MSN Messenger add-on alive. If you do not wish to support the developer, you are allowed to refuse and proceed without installing the sponsor. PLEASE READ THIS END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT AND PRIVACY POLICY CAREFULLY AND MAKE SURE YOU UNDERSTAND THEM. THIS IS A CONTRACT AND BY INDICATING YOUR ACCEPTANCE, YOU ACCEPT ALL THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT AND THE APPLICABLE PRIVACY POLICY AND WILL BE PERMITTED TO DOWNLOAD THE SOFTWARE. IF YOU DO NOT ACCEPT THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS END USER LICENSE AGREEMENT AND THE PRIVACY POLICY, YOU WILL NOT BE PERMITTED TO DOWNLOAD THE SOFTWARE. End User License Agreement This End User License Agreement ("Agreement") governs use of C2 Media Ltd.'s ("C2") software product known as lop.com
|
msgpluszone.com:66.98.252.17 (Support forum for msgplus)
What really links them also is the ending of the EULA:
| Quote: |
For general support please email support@lop.com. For comments or concerns about a website that is promoting this software please email affiliates@wrn.net with all pertinent information
|
wrn.net is the lop.com site for affiliate members.
Creators Profile:
http://msgplus.mybboard.com/member.php?action=profile&uid=10
patchou.com:66.98.198.21 (Creator of Msgplus)
So anyone who installs msgplus will get lopped!
Additional Reading:
http://www.geeknewz.com/board/index.php?showtopic=1413 _________________ Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
radio Moderator & HJT Expert

Joined: 21 May 2004 Last Visit: 15 Jul 2008 Posts: 366
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nomorespyware Warrior Sleuth Expert

Joined: 19 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 04 Feb 2007 Posts: 464
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 10:43 am Post subject: chat programs |
|
|
| I'm beginning to notice a trend of chat programs bundling adware with their downloads. I intend to do a page on my site about it after I gather enough information. I do know that AIM (AOL Instant Messanger) now comes bundled with WildTangant. I was contacted a while back by an AIM user who said they upgraded their old AIM program to the latest version and it downloaded WildTangent at the same time without even a EULA. I suspect all P2P programs contain bundled adware and would like to do a piece on it. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wawadave Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009 Posts: 4080 Location: Illegitimus non carborundum
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Nick Site Admin

Joined: 27 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 08 Feb 2010 Posts: 4720 Location: California
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 12:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Trillian is still adware free and you can be on more than one chat network without opening more programs. It supports AIM, MSN Messenger, Yahoo IM, and ICQ as well as IRC.
http://www.trillian.cc/ _________________ Nick's Security Ticker
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
webhelper SWW Expert

Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Last Visit: 20 Jan 2010 Posts: 1128
|
Posted: Sun May 30, 2004 1:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I wrote that piece as a least we forget because of all the new users who don't know about that one. We still see logs with messenger plus installed and wondering where they go all the adware from...
BTW: have you heard of whistle software? so far that baby is transmitting more than my Transponder offeroptimizer does. They even make you enter your email and zip to install because it is a socalled weather type software. Been seeing my fake email being sent to 3rd party ad servers during transmissions to day.
Complete write up later after I have some more data collected on them.. _________________ Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wawadave Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009 Posts: 4080 Location: Illegitimus non carborundum
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
webhelper SWW Expert

Joined: 11 Apr 2004 Last Visit: 20 Jan 2010 Posts: 1128
|
Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:52 am Post subject: MSPLus update |
|
|
For anyone who thinks that just because PACIULLO CYRIL the creator of MSPLUS is affiliated with lop.com in the install of their hijacking adware/malware, I got a hot flash for you all. He is more than just using them as an affiliate, he is a legal corporate partner with lop.com. THAT MEANS HE IS ALSO RESPONSIBLE FOR WHAT ALL THEY DO!
Secure Software Inc. when I last checked the Florida state corporation database listed only Alex Shamash and his parnter Jason Lucas But as of today it has a third partner listed. Want to take a guess?
PACIULLO CYRIL
http://www.sunbiz.org/scripts/cordet.exe?a1=DETFIL&n1=P02000112500&n2=NAMFWD&n3=0000&n4=N&r1=&r2=&r3=&r4=SECURESOFTWARE&r5=
Officer/Director Detail
Name & Address Title
SHAMASH, ALEX
PO BOX 1113
SHALIMAR FL 32579 D
LUCAS, JASON
PO BOX 33O
SHALIMAR FL 32579 D
CYRIL, PACIULLO
105 PLACE DU COLLEGE #8
LONGUEUIL, QUEBEC 00 J4J-1-G3 CA D
****** _________________ Wächter der Geschichten:
http://www.webhelper4u.com/thewatcher.html
Member of ASAP Since 2004 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DeleterFX Warrior Guru

Joined: 25 May 2004 Last Visit: 30 Apr 2008 Posts: 426 Location: Maine
|
Posted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 10:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've got the tar, who's got a big feather pillow?
Thanks webhelper, as always your info is vital
nomorespyware,
Definatly do that piece I'll be sure to check it out, post a thread about it when your done in one of the forums I'm sure to run across it. _________________ You've Been Deleted
CCSP Website
Member of The ASAP Since 2004 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wawadave Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 25 Jan 2004 Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009 Posts: 4080 Location: Illegitimus non carborundum
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
YUGWEN Warrior

Joined: 17 Jun 2004 Last Visit: 23 Apr 2007 Posts: 179 Location: Oregon
|
Posted: Fri Jun 18, 2004 2:37 pm Post subject: No feather pillows, but a LOT of packing peanuts! |
|
|
Maybe superglue, post it notes, and packing peanuts ought to work as the new millineum version... But if I had access to tar and feathers I'd be tempted to do BOTH  _________________ Absorb what is useful |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Moore Moderator

Joined: 31 May 2004 Last Visit: 14 Mar 2009 Posts: 795 Location: °°.Right.Here.°°
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 08 Feb 2010 Posts: 10682 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Sun Oct 03, 2004 7:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Veerry interesting disucssion there Moore. It give a little insight to the mind of a spyware pusher. Lots of denial and excuses. _________________ Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|