 |
Spyware Warrior Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
|
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:35 pm Post subject: Adware Company Suspect In Major Scam |
|
|
From ReveNews:
| Wayen Porter wrote: |
After reviewing the evidence in the books I urged the sender, David Eastbrook of Huricane Digital Media to spirit this information to the proper authorities including the FBI, FTC and the New York Attorney General's Office since there seems to be a tie-in with Direct Revenue. A company, I might add, that recently experienced a massive round of lay offs perhaps related to their less than stellar disclosure practices..
I choose a basic interview format to lay the ground work for questions. David's answers follow my questions. I urge readers to ask David questions as he will be monitoring this thread to give feedback. This is a very complex case with many twists and turns and a blog entry simply cannot do it justice. |
Full Read @ ReveNews
This is actually a 'live' interview, with questions being posted by readers and answered as they are recieved. Check it out. _________________
Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A little bit more of Direct-Revenues woes:
| Quote: |
Direct Revenue: Out of the Pan, Into the Adware Fire
August 29, 2005 /New Media Report/--Direct Revenue’s CEO J.P. Maheu has answers for those who’ve reported that the doors are closing at DR. During a conversation with the NewMedia Report last Thursday, Maheu implied that the recent changes at Direct Revenue are simply the result of a new strategic vision for the company, and claimed that DR is now working with likes of the CDT’s Ari Schwartz to fix the subversive adware issues that have damaged the company’s rep in the past. However, the future might not be as sunny as Maheu would like it to seem. Former DR employees and insiders tell us that the company is now the subject of an investigation by New York Attorney General’s Office.
Over email, Wayne Porter told the NewMedia Report staff that more evidence will soon be made public that implies that Direct Revenue was aware of a scheme involving drive-by installs from banners; according to Porter, this evidence has already been turned over to the NYS Attorney General as part of an ongoing investigation. |
New Media Report
For a little bit more backround on Direct-Revenue and IM installs you can read this archive of articles _________________
Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 11:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Tomes of Grey Part II: Eastbrook Begins & EULA Madness
David EastBrook:
| Wayne Porter wrote: |
In my phone conversations with one Mia Simondson of Direct Revenue she told me they were working with Orian Holtby as adserving.us. She also "claimed" that Orion Holtby failed to pay his invoices to Direct Revenue just as they failed to pay our bill.
Of more interest is an application called Tinkopal. The TinkoPal EULA
has/had the ABetterInternet privacy policy embedded in it proving they were working with this individual prior to their deals with adserving.us. TinkoPal is owned by Ncontext Media which is registered to none other than Orion Holtby.
Porter's Note: I have also analyzed the TinkoPal EULA and there are direct references to ABetterInternet aka Direct Revenue and their privacy policy in the EULA.
For the EULA collectors out there here are some TinkoPal EULA metrics:
Number of Characters: 34791
Number of Words: 5653
Number of Sentences: 145
Avg Words per Sentence: 38.99
Flesch Score: 4.71
Flesch Grade: 22 = Beyond Twelfth Grade Reading Level
There are also some great clauses in the EULA too- it is a lovely work of art if you are into legal self flagellation. Here are a few reasons people detest adware. This agreement (which requires the equivalent of a master's degree to truly understand) is so ridiculous and dangerous (the ability to upload arbitrary code) that I wouldn't wish it on my own enemies. |
Full Read @ ReveNews
TeMerc: There are some amazing 'requirements' contained on the linked page. If all lawyers wrote contracts with as many holes in it, biased to the vendors side, like this, no one would be able to stay in business. _________________
Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2005 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Some details are beginning to trickle out about Orion Holtby and his scam on Hurricane Digital Media........no, check that, they are streaming out.
This saga will be also taking place over at Wayne Porter's ReveNews. Watch as the story unfolds, as we get a direct peek into the mind of a scam artist, and witness as he is taken down, by David Eastbrook, Wayne, and PG, no holds barred, no rules, cagematch style, its gonna get ugly before it gets pretty. And I already placed my bets on the winners.
Full Read Here _________________
Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 11:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
After a long stretch of silence, David has fired up the blog once more about our good friend Orion Holtby.
| David Eastbrook wrote: |
It’s been a while since my last post, so I decided today is a good day to ruin someone’s weekend. Lord knows he’s ruined plenty for other people.
Orion Holtby has a partner.
His name is Hamed Vaghayenegar. Orion reportedly bought Hamed’s company, Creatrix Media Inc. ( www.creatrixads.com ) earlier this year. Hamed has been acting as the “front man” for the combined operation, which has used a variety of names. They include nContextMedia, Publishercash, Adacuity, nContextSearch, and many, many others. |
Full Read w\pix, & PDF of flyer @ Hurricane Digital Media _________________
Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
TeMerc Warrior Obsessed

Joined: 12 Feb 2004 Last Visit: 23 Dec 2009 Posts: 4953 Location: Phx. AZ.
|
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 8:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Quote: |
The picture I posted a while back of Holtby brandishing a handgun has generated a great deal of reaction. I felt I should address the subject to explain our position and perspective.
We’ve been asked if we’re worried or scared or something because we’re dealing with armed thugs.
No, not particularly.
We will never make the mistake of bringing a knife to a gunfight. |
Full Read @ Hurricane Digital Media _________________
Ultimate Countermeasures Page
Calendar Of Updates
Malware Advisor Blog |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
deastbrook Newbie
Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Last Visit: 13 Jul 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:32 pm Post subject: Now We're REALLY Mad! |
|
|
Looks like some of our favorite a-holes are back.
Why don't people just stay down when they're licked?
And if anyone suspected we were kidding about payback just because we've been quiet for a while, well, a shock is in store shortly.
Just because you haven't heard from us lately, don't assume we've stopped taking it to scumbags and assorted villainy.
And don't assume we aren't fighting this fight the HURRICANE way... _________________ David Eastbrook
Hurricane Digital Media, LLC
608-222-1001
www.hurricanedigitalmedia.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|