Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

'Unreal' probs.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 3:21 am    Post subject: 'Unreal' probs. Reply with quote

A topic started by me at spywareinfo:

Quote:
I've got some problems with my Unreal tournament 2004.

It's playin real nice for say 20 minutes and then it starts lagging and suddenly it crashes.

It comes up with this: UT2004 Build UT2004_Build_[2004-03-03_02.42]

OS: Windows XP 5.1 (Build: 2600)
CPU: AuthenticAMD PentiumPro-class processor @ 2102 MHz with 1023MB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 (Microsoft Corporation) (5673)

General protection fault!

History:

And i dont know what to do cause there is no history .

Anyone who knows what to do?

Kind regards Bjerrk


http://forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php?showtopic=35415

This problem has been solved, but there is one problem.
I bought unreal II, about the same time i bought UT2004.
Same problem. Unreal II was coming up with the exact same message.
I solved it by disabling all my secrity apps.
Then it worked just fine. But it dosen't feel right to disable ALL security Sad !
Is there any way that i could still run avast, spywareguard, sygate fwall, teatimer and startupmonitor. And still being able to play unreal??
Sorry for my poor english.

Kind regards Bjerrrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle


Last edited by Bjerrk on Wed Dec 08, 2004 1:40 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Blinn
Warrior Guru


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow disabling every single one?!

Have you tried disabling one at a time (and then still no go, disable 2, so on), I highly doubt all of them need to turned off. Well, if that were true, I'm not sure I would want to play like that. Is this online play?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 1:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blinn wrote:
Wow disabling every single one?!
Well, if that were true, I'm not sure I would want to play like that. Is this online play?


By god, no!
I pulled out my LAN cable before doin' ANYTHING!
Give this a look! http://www.atarisupport.com/newfaq/unreal2theawakening.php?browser=1&issueNum=259&osType=WINXP&pageDisplay=MAIN#faq_prodissues
That should explain some of it to you Smile .
Quote:
Wow disabling every single one?!

Yeah, creepy huh?
Quote:
Have you tried disabling one at a time (and then still no go, disable 2, so on)?

No not yet (i'm running 35 processes at minimum...)
i will give it a try when i have better time (could be tomorrow...)

Blinn---> Thanks for the advice!

Any help is appreciated!

Kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 1:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One more thing:

After i followed the advice given by "atari tech support" i've experienced a new prob!
My windows restarts often, when unreal II wants to load any files.
It has NEVER restarted before (when i have not pressed the button).
It says that "the system has been restored, after a major system-failure!"
(of course in danish Smile )
Windows tells me that the problem is about theese to files:
C:\DOCUME~1\Bjarke\LOKALE~1\Temp\WER5ee2.dir00\Mini120604-02.dmp and,
C:\DOCUME~1\Bjarke\LOKALE~1\Temp\WER5ee2.dir00\sysdata.xml .

I've googled some around, and found many that've had similiar probs. but no solution.

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Blinn
Warrior Guru


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon Dec 06, 2004 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bjerrk wrote:

No not yet (i'm running 35 processes at minimum...)
i will give it a try when i have better time (could be tomorrow...)


ok, i'd better make sure you understand that i am talking about stopping only security applications, not disabling other stuff. Anyway, good luck with everything Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blinn wrote:
Bjerrk wrote:

No not yet (i'm running 35 processes at minimum...)
i will give it a try when i have better time (could be tomorrow...)


ok, i'd better make sure you understand that i am talking about stopping only security applications, not disabling other stuff. Anyway, good luck with everything Smile


Yes i understood that Smile .
But atari tech support gives me the advice of "stopping every process that's listed in your username, exept taskmanager and explorer"

kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blinn wrote:
Have you tried disabling one at a time (and then still no go, disable 2, so on)?


I really can't do that. I'm running 12 security apps at a time...
And unreal (and other games now) only crashes once an hour at most.
And i dont know if i was meant to disable the part of avast that's listed as a "system process".
Anyway i havent got 12 free hours.
Is there no other way to do this?

Kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello
sounds like it may be conflicting with other third party soft ware thats installed. got a list?
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd


Last edited by wawadave on Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll come up with one in a moment.

The thing is that other games is acting weird too.
The games that is behaving strange is: Unreal II, Unreal tournament 2004 and Clive Barkers undying (at the moment).

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The games that is behaving strange is: Unreal II, Unreal tournament 2004 and Clive Barkers undying (at the moment).


And what do they have in common? They're all using unreal's graphic engines (Undying is using the one for unreal tournament)

Here's the list:

Avast antivirus (includes: Instant messenger prot., mail scanner, network shield, P2P shield and standard shield)

Teatimer

Spybot resident protection

Spywareguard

Msn Messenger (sometimes)

Rundll32.exe (two times??)

Java-thing (you know the thing that makes azerus work Think )

Something called cookie.exe (i dont know what THAT is)

Startupmonitor

Explorer (of course)

and taskmanager (hehe)

kind regards Bjerrk Smile Very Happy
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
sounds like it may be conflicting with other hird party soft ware thats installed. got a list?
Does any of those above mentioned app's conflict? Could any of the apps be the scource of my prob Question Surprised

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

teatimer causes hell with my system. try disableing it and see how it works.
you can use this to disable it in start up.
startup inspector
http://www.download.com/Startup-Inspector-for-Windows/3000-2086_4-10294569.html?tag=lst-0-6
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it ok if i just disable it in msconfig?
Or maybe startup list?
Or does it take more?

Earlier today i got somehow desperat and replaced avast with AVG and sygate with kerio.

I'll give them a try and see how it goes.

I appreciat your help!

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
3162
Honorary Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 04 May 2009
Posts: 4452

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running CookieWall ?
_________________
Proud member of the Chest Zipper Club!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is it ok if i just disable it in msconfig?
Or maybe startup list?
Or does it take more?


yes!
i,m so used to newby,s i just automatically posted that still will be good for them when they read it!
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 6:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3162 wrote:
Are you running CookieWall ?


Yes i am, could that be the problem?? i would gladly delete it if that could solve it!!

I have - as said earlier - replaced both avast and sygate and the prob. remains Sad Crying or Very sad .

I'll try to disable teatimer.

I appreciate the help!!

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
3162
Honorary Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 04 May 2009
Posts: 4452

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Certainly that could be the problem. Try disabling cookiewall before you delete it.
If the problem goes away, then Setting may be too strict.
You can probably allow cookies from trusted sites, too.
_________________
Proud member of the Chest Zipper Club!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crap Exclamation

i've now disabled teatimer and cookiewall, this time unreal didn't come up with that "general protaction fault" thing.
It just froze Evil or Very Mad
I rebooted and tried again but this time it came up with that blue screen saying that some error has occurred
Undying did come up with the "general protection fault" message one time.
But not as often as before.

Kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello give this a try.
goto start,run,type
sfc /scannow click ok incert xp cd when asked.
be warned recovery cd,s will not work for this!
sfc /scannow how to: http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html

i,m at a loss on this other wise.
all your windoz updates done?
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wawadave wrote:
hello give this a try.
goto start,run,type
sfc /scannow click ok incert xp cd when asked.
be warned recovery cd,s will not work for this!
sfc /scannow how to: http://www.updatexp.com/scannow-sfc.html


I can't do that 'cos my windows was preinstalled.
All i've got is a win95 cd Sad .

Quote:
i,m at a loss on this other wise.
all your windoz updates done?


Hehe now i am... I've just done it... i'll check if that solves it..

I appreciate your help (again)!

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wawadave
Warrior Obsessed


Joined: 25 Jan 2004
Last Visit: 24 Jul 2009
Posts: 3448
Location: Illegitimus non carborundum

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

might chech make sure your ram is fine.
memtest86
http://www.memtest86.com/

how many whats is your power supply?
done check dsk and defrag recently?
any dust build up on cpu fan and heat sink?

whay are the tempatures that the cpu and mobo are runing at?
_________________
RFID tags! SPYWARE
Tired of proprietary Cor-pirationware?
http://www.openoffice.org/
Installing Vista http://tinyurl.com/2l9qyd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:15 am    Post subject: Nooooooooo! Reply with quote

Now my PC has started showing that blue error screen very often Shocked !

It told me that the prob was about NV4_disp.dll and therefore i reinstalled my Nvidia drivers. After that the error screen kept showin' up. But this time it said that the prob. was about some win32 file...

I think the only thing left is to get some winXP proffi Cd and do a sfc /scannow...

Quote:
any dust build up on cpu fan and heat sink?


Nope. This box is only 'bout a month old...

Quote:
how many watts is your power supply?


300 to 400 W's i think...

Quote:
done check dsk and defrag recently?


No. none of that stuff...

Kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Blinn
Warrior Guru


Joined: 10 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 15 Apr 2009
Posts: 424
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm I also have an Nvidia FX5900, I updated my drivers a few days ago but I have no problems. It sounds like these blue screens are popping up all over now and not just in Unreal, is that right?

This problem is really weird, first disabling all your security applications "fixed" it, and now the problem seems much bigger? Think
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blinn wrote:
hmmm I also have an Nvidia FX5900, I updated my drivers a few days ago but I have no problems. It sounds like these blue screens are popping up all over now and not just in Unreal, is that right?

This problem is really weird, first disabling all your security applications "fixed" it, and now the problem seems much bigger? Think


Exactly!

To be more precise that win32-file was win32k.sys

The weirdest thing is that i've played undying for 2-3 hours today having no probs!!
Then i opened some .doc file, and i went all crazy!!

Dont you think that the only thing left is to get some winXP profess. Cd and do a sfc /scannow?

Kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
3162
Honorary Site Admin


Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Last Visit: 04 May 2009
Posts: 4452

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See what I found on win32k.sys
_________________
Proud member of the Chest Zipper Club!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3162 wrote:
See what I found on win32k.sys


Yeah, i've tried that. Thanx anyway!

I didn't find anything useful. Maybe i just didn't try hard 'nuff?

-Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Bjerrk
Warrior


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Last Visit: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 149
Location: Denmark, that is.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys'n'girls!

I'm back on the forum, with a new, better computer Smile

I threw the box back to the store from wich it came... And it showed up that CPU was "out of order Confused ".

well, now its fixed and im happy....
D'oh silly me huh?

Kind regards Bjerrk
_________________
"I hope there's some respect and dignity for things I did not do."
- Dan Quayle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group