| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Danfun64 Junior Member
Joined: 27 Jul 2010 Last Visit: 15 Apr 2013 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 12:17 pm Post subject: bumbed onto a shady website that claims to be firefox update |
|
|
| I was looking for some pictures when it redirected me to firefoxupdater(dot)co(dot)cc (careful going there) . The website claimed that my firefox was out of date and wanted me to download a file called ff-update.exe . I didn't download it. It appears that it prompt me to download it twice. After checking that firefox's official update checking thingy, it confirmed that firefox was up to date. Can somebody who has a virtual machine handy check that file for malware? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 21 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the post. I've asked to have it checked out. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MysteryFCM Malware Expert

Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013 Posts: 841 Location: Tyne & Wear, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It's a fake AV  _________________ Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 21 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Figures.
Thanks for checking it Steven. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MysteryFCM Malware Expert

Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013 Posts: 841 Location: Tyne & Wear, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2010 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My pleasure  _________________ Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|