Spyware Warrior Spyware Warrior
Help with Spyware, Hijacking & Other Internet Nuisances
 
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Please help me access my files!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed Jan 20, 2010 4:43 am    Post subject: Please help me access my files! Reply with quote

I need your help! I have an old hd that has my files loaded onto to it and it used to be my bootable drive but some kind of error happened to it and I was forced to use it as slave drive. For some reason now I can't access my files on this drive. When I go in docs and settings to try and access the administrator folder I can't and this message pops up.



I can access the folders that belong to my mother but not my own. How do I bypass this security setting so that I can finally access my files? I'm desperate for help since I have a lot of very important files on there that I need. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monte
Newbie


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Last Visit: 01 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What happens when you click continue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply and sorry for the late response. When I click continue this window pops up.



Could you instruct me on how to use the security tab to access my files? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There have been over 10,000 views and only one reply. Monte could you please reply or could somebody please help. I desperately need my files. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gary R
Moderator


Joined: 03 May 2005
Last Visit: 31 Aug 2014
Posts: 9979
Location: Yorkshire

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 1:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is not really a Malware issue, but seems to be more related to a problem with Windows or your drive. You might get a better response to your request if you were to post to a forum that specialises in this kind of issue.

Below are a few that may be able to help ......

http://forums.whatthetech.com/Microsoft_Windows_f119.html
http://forums.whatthetech.com/General_Hardware_f126.html

http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/Windows-Vista-Windows-7-f79.html
http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/Hardware-Components-Peripherals-f9.html

http://www.techsupportforum.com/microsoft-support/windows-vista-windows-7-support/
http://www.techsupportforum.com/hardware-support/hard-drive-support/

Hope this helps you. Good luck getting your problem resolved.
_________________
Gary R Administrator at Malware Removal University



If you've been helped, please donate to help with the costs of this volunteer site .... Spyware Warrior Donations
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to the foolowing link and take a look at the first post from Steve

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/780283.html


I believe this will work, but post back here either way
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

roger_m wrote:
Go to the foolowing link and take a look at the first post from Steve

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/780283.html


I believe this will work, but post back here either way


Hi guys and thanks for your responses. To Gary R I will still try your suggestions.

To Roger M... thanks for recommending that post. buzzman15 and I have about the exact same problem. The problem is Steve's suggestion still didn't work for me. Can you recommend anything else I could try? Or am I doing something wrong in Steve's suggestion?

Steve said...

Quote:
You need to use the security tab and take ownership of the files.

Right click on the relevant folder, click properties->advanced->owner-> click edit. Make sure the "replace ownership on subfolders" box is selected, select your account from the provided list and click ok.

Note it should say you may need to reopen the folder for the permissions to fully take effect, that should fix things, it's quite a common issue with new installs and files from other computers.


When I click properties there was no advanced or owner tab. I had to find what I thought was similar by clicking the Security tab then advanced. Then I clicked the Owner tab and the edit button. Please let me know if I'm doing something wrong. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 12:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

leader2 wrote:
When I click properties there was no advanced or owner tab. I had to find what I thought was similar by clicking the Security tab then advanced. Then I clicked the Owner tab and the edit button.


You are right about. Let me know how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far I've tried to take ownership of the files and that allowed me to open the folders, but when I tried to open the actual files themselves I got messages like access is denied. How can access the files themselves so that I can open and modify documents? Does anybody know how to do this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
suzi
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Last Visit: 31 Aug 2014
Posts: 10324
Location: sunny California

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you trying to do this in normal mode or safe mode? I think you need to be in safe mode for it to work.
_________________
Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try the following:

Download and install this: http://download.microsoft.com/download/1/7/d/17d82b72-bc6a-4dc8-bfaa-98b37b22b367/subinacl.msi

Next click on the start menu and type in cmd, when cmd.exe shows up, right click on it and select run as administrator. In the command window which will come up, enter the following:

cd /d "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Resource Kits\Tools"

Then enter the following, but replace the word DRIVE with the drive where the files are stored, so it will read for example E:\*.* if your files are on drive E:

subinacl /subdirectories DRIVE\*.* /grant=administrators=f /grant=system=f


When everything is done, you can close the command window, and try to access your files again.

Hopefully this will fix your problems! This does not need to be run in safe mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

suzi wrote:
Are you trying to do this in normal mode or safe mode? I think you need to be in safe mode for it to work.


I was in normal mode.

roger_m wrote:
Try the following:

Download and install this: http://download.microsoft.com/download/1/7/d/17d82b72-bc6a-4dc8-bfaa-98b37b22b367/subinacl.msi

Next click on the start menu and type in cmd, when cmd.exe shows up, right click on it and select run as administrator. In the command window which will come up, enter the following:

cd /d "%ProgramFiles%\Windows Resource Kits\Tools"

Then enter the following, but replace the word DRIVE with the drive where the files are stored, so it will read for example E:\*.* if your files are on drive E:

subinacl /subdirectories DRIVE\*.* /grant=administrators=f /grant=system=f


When everything is done, you can close the command window, and try to access your files again.

Hopefully this will fix your problems! This does not need to be run in safe mode.


I tried to do the first part of your command and I got this result.



What am I missing here roger? Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you install the Windows Resource Kit from the link I gave first?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

roger_m wrote:
Did you install the Windows Resource Kit from the link I gave first?


Yes I did. Do you want me to reinstall it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this to get to the Windows Resource Kits folder:

In the command window, enter this:
cd "\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools"

To make it easier, just copy the above line, and then right click in the command window and select paste.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

roger_m wrote:
Try this to get to the Windows Resource Kits folder:

In the command window, enter this:
cd "\Program Files\Windows Resource Kits\Tools"

To make it easier, just copy the above line, and then right click in the command window and select paste.


Are you sure that is the right path? Because all I get is this...



btw I hope I'm not bothering you with this? Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi leader2, that is correct path. Can you verify that your Program Files folder is on C: and is actually called Program Files

You're not bothering me, I like to help people...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is the path...

C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Resource Kits\Tools

And thanks for saying I wasn't bothering you. I appreciate your help. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, in the command window you need to enter:

cd C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Resource Kits\Tools

Once again you can copy and past the path.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leader2
Warrior


Joined: 08 May 2009
Last Visit: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for all your help guys. I think my issue is resolved for now.

My emoticon salute

Very Happy Smile Wink Angel Little thongue man Heart Thumb Up Ya winkles Clap Man Big Thumb Up Dancing 2 man down
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
roger_m
Warrior Addict


Joined: 24 Feb 2006
Last Visit: 06 Mar 2014
Posts: 605
Location: Blackwater, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good to hear you can access your files now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Spyware Warrior Forum Index -> General Software Discussion All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



smartBlue Style © 2002 Smartor
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group