| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
mattiator Newbie
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Last Visit: 30 Dec 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:07 pm Post subject: Here's a new one... maybe |
|
|
http://scanner.shredderscan.com/1/?advid=3980
The above link looks rather flaky. Not sure if it's already known (I didn't see SpyShredder listed on the rouge list), but it looks like it tries to do an ActiveX driveby install. Yay, the internet needs more of those !
-Mattiator
Link edited by admin so it is not live. Please do not post links to potentially dangerous sites. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mattiator Newbie
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Last Visit: 30 Dec 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:30 pm Post subject: Re: Here's a new one... maybe |
|
|
| mattiator wrote: |
http://scanner.shredderscan.com/1/?advid=3980
The above link looks rather flaky. Not sure if it's already known (I didn't see SpyShredder listed on the rouge list), but it looks like it tries to do an ActiveX driveby install. Yay, the internet needs more of those !
-Mattiator
Link edited by admin so it is not live. Please do not post links to potentially dangerous sites. |
Sorry! So, I just use the [i] command? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 20 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, or use hxxp instead of http. Or just leave off the http:// and www completely. Thanks. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
malware Junior Member
Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Last Visit: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:45 am Post subject: Here's a new one... maybe |
|
|
| Yep, the web is rogue. SpyShredder is stated in the description. Wow, now rogue AS are starting to imitate the online virus scanner??? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
MysteryFCM Malware Expert

Joined: 28 Aug 2004 Last Visit: 01 Mar 2013 Posts: 841 Location: Tyne & Wear, UK
|
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:54 pm Post subject: Re: Here's a new one... maybe |
|
|
| malware wrote: |
| Wow, now rogue AS are starting to imitate the online virus scanner??? |
They've been doing that for years .... _________________ Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
malware Junior Member
Joined: 01 Sep 2006 Last Visit: 19 Jun 2008 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:58 am Post subject: Here's a new one... maybe |
|
|
| Lol, really? I haven't been visiting this forum for quite a while so i didn't know... oh well, these "geniuses" are becoming more and more advanced somehow, imitating legitimate softwares and webs to fool people. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mattiator Newbie
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Last Visit: 30 Dec 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Anti-spyware vendors... gotta love em' |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mattiator Newbie
Joined: 03 Jun 2008 Last Visit: 30 Dec 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| suzi wrote: |
| Yes, or use hxxp instead of http. Or just leave off the http:// and www completely. Thanks. |
Just a question... Why hasn't SpyShredder ever been listed as rouge? Perhaps because it has not been tested. Just thought I'd ask. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 20 May 2013 Posts: 10271 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| mattiator wrote: |
Just a question... Why hasn't SpyShredder ever been listed as rouge? Perhaps because it has not been tested. Just thought I'd ask. |
See the note at the top of the page:
http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_anti-spyware.htm _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|