| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
nosirrah Warrior
Joined: 30 Aug 2006 Last Visit: 16 Jul 2007 Posts: 160
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
aBenG Warrior

Joined: 06 Apr 2006 Last Visit: 23 Apr 2010 Posts: 288 Location: Darkest UK
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
From the Spycrush page:
| Quote: |
| Spyware, like a virus, is a malicious software planted on your PC by a third party in order to secretly monitor what you do online. |
They like to keep it simplistic don't they? Or are they just being 'user-friendly'? _________________ Inperfect. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
roger_m Warrior Addict

Joined: 24 Feb 2006 Last Visit: 08 Sep 2010 Posts: 589 Location: Blackwater, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Appears to a clone of Virus Burst which is allready on the rogue list.
The EULA page in the installer is for Virus Burst. After finding Virus Burst in the rogue list I cancelled the install. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nosirrah Warrior
Joined: 30 Aug 2006 Last Visit: 16 Jul 2007 Posts: 160
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| roger_m wrote: |
Appears to a clone of Virus Burst which is allready on the rogue list.
The EULA page in the installer is for Virus Burst. After finding Virus Burst in the rogue list I cancelled the install. |
I can confirm this now . There is a lot of Virus burst graphics in this rogue .
***Note to the mods . Can someone please cripple the link in my first post . |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Oldfrog Site Admin

Joined: 08 Aug 2004 Last Visit: 08 Jul 2009 Posts: 1169 Location: Hewitt, TX
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Quote: |
| Can someone please cripple the link in my first post |
Done!  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 09 Sep 2010 Posts: 10724 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As if there were any doubt....
http://whois.domaintools.com/spycrush.com
Hosted at Netcathost.
http://whois.domaintools.com/spycrush.com
http://whois.domaintools.com/195.225.177.53
Netcathost has the dubious honor of being SANS' most hated netblock of 2005.
http://isc.sans.org/diary.html?storyid=974
| Quote: |
Most Hated Netblock:195.225.176.x - 195.225.177.x (AS31159)
Provider: Netcathost, Kiev, Ukraine
Reason for claim to fame: Hosting exploits, browser hijackers and CoolWebSearch related annoyances since several months. Ignoring, bouncing, or rejecting any complaints to the abuse contacts. |
DNS and domain registration courtesy of Estdomains.
Registrant info is probably fake or possibly an ID theft victim. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AndyAtHull SWW Honors Graduate

Joined: 27 Oct 2005 Last Visit: 13 Aug 2010 Posts: 438
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
suzi Site Admin

Joined: 27 Jul 2003 Last Visit: 09 Sep 2010 Posts: 10724 Location: sunny California
|
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 7:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
http://whois.domaintools.com/spycrusher.com
Been registered since 1999, but it says no website. It looks like it's probably a legit company.
http://whois.domaintools.com/spy-crusher.com
Registered over 2 years ago. No website -- when I clicked the thumbnail, I got a page not found. Proxy registrar. _________________ Former Microsoft MVP 2005-2009, Consumer Security
Please do not PM or Email me for personal support. Post in the Forums instead and we will all learn.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
AndyAtHull SWW Honors Graduate

Joined: 27 Oct 2005 Last Visit: 13 Aug 2010 Posts: 438
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nosirrah Warrior
Joined: 30 Aug 2006 Last Visit: 16 Jul 2007 Posts: 160
|
Posted: Thu Feb 08, 2007 4:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I am checking to see if this is a lone rogue or part of a new family tonight . |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nosirrah Warrior
Joined: 30 Aug 2006 Last Visit: 16 Jul 2007 Posts: 160
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|